ATTENTION: Your browser appears to have scripting disabled. Aspects of this website require that JavaScript be enabled to function properly.
To ensure full functionality, please enable JavaScript in your browser, or enable scripting for this website.
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
News Release
February 14, 2017
Contact: Melissa Duncan

AUSTIN – Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, today appointed work groups to develop final recommendations for SB 1, the Senate's base budget, as the Senate Finance Committee finished its first four weeks of budget hearings.

"We have had four productive weeks of hearings and heard extensive testimony on each agency budget request. SB 1 is a starting point, and now we turn our attention to making decisions about our funding priorities," said Senator Nelson. "In a lean budget year, we will have to prioritize, but I am confident we will pass a responsible budget that meets our needs."

The Committee promptly began hearings on January 24, 2017 and was presented with budget requests from 167 agencies, boards and commissions. Senator Nelson appointed the following work groups:

  • Articles I, IV & V - Senator Huffman, Chair; Senators Hancock; Hinojosa; Kolkhorst; and Whitmire
  • Article II - Senator Schwertner, Chair; Senators Birdwell; Kolkhorst; Uresti; and Watson
  • Article III - Senator L. Taylor, Chair; Senators Bettencort; Hancock; Seliger; and West
  • Article VI, VII & VII - Senator Nichols, Chair; Senators Bettencort; Hinojosa; Seliger; and Watson
Senator Jane Nelson represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.