

Committees: Veteran Affairs – Chair Education Business & Commerce IGR

Comal Guadalupe Hays Kendall

District 25 Counties:

Bexar (part)

Travis (part)

For Immediate Release: Monday, April 24, 2017

Contact: Nathan McDaniel 512-463-0125

State Senate Passes Senator Campbell's Texas Annexation Reform Act

AUSTIN – The Texas Senate voted 20-11 today in favor of SB 715, also known as the Texas Annexation Reform Act. This bill makes the municipal annexation process more democratic by requiring the consent of the majority of registered voters in a proposed area for annexation and promoting greater communication between cities and residents. It also streamlines the process for land owners requesting to be annexed, cutting costs and eliminating bureaucratic red tape.

"I applaud my colleagues in the Senate for giving Texans a voice in the annexation process and determining who will ultimately govern them. Today's vote is a victory for the property rights of all Texans," Senator Campbell stated. "It is simply wrong to force citizens who live outside the jurisdiction of a city to be absorbed solely to increase a city's tax base. The Texas Annexation Reform Act takes an important step toward protecting property owners from forced annexation and gives residents a greater say in what should be a more collaborative process."

"Under current law, some cities are annexing areas purely to boost their tax base while ignoring poorer areas in desperate need of services. Other areas are annexed for limited purposes, meaning residents must adhere to ordinances and regulations despite living outside the city and having no elected representation. This bill prevents such abuses of power," said Sen. Campbell.

Senate Bill 715 is joint authored by five other senators. It now heads to the House where two similar pieces of legislation have been filed by Rep. Dan Huberty and Rep. Lyle Larson

###

State Senator Donna Campbell is Chairwoman for the Veteran Affairs and Border Security Committee. She represents Senate District 25, which includes all or parts of Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendall, and Travis Counties.