

Contact: Sydni Mitchell Tel: (512) 463-0103

For Immediate Release May 12, 2017

## Nichols, Huffman and King Pass SB 16 to Lower License to Carry Fees

Austin, TX – The Texas Legislature has approved Senate Bill 16 by Senate authors Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston) and House sponsor Representative Phil King (R-Weatherford), which lowers the License to Carry fees in the State of Texas.

"I am thankful to Governor Abbott, Lt. Governor Patrick and my colleagues in the Legislature for their support of this important bill," said Senator Nichols. "With one of the highest fees in the nation to obtain a license to carry, an undue burden had been imposed on Texans rights to obtain a license to carry. By lowering the fee, we have made it more affordable to exercise their Second Amendment rights."

Senate Bill 16 lowers the first-time fee for a license to carry by \$100, making it one of the lowest in the country. At \$40 the fee will cover the necessary cost by the state for county, state and federal background checks. The renewal fee has also been lowered from \$70 to \$40.

"The \$140 LTC fee is excessive when compared to what it cost the State to issue and run background checks for a license to carry," said Representative King. "In fact, just last year Texas generated over \$24 million in profit off of your right to bear arms. This bill ends that practice."

"As a strong supporter of the Second Amendment, and as a joint author of Senate Bill 16, it is time that Texas lower the fee to obtain a License to Carry so that Texans can exercise their Constitutional right without there being a financial burden," said Senator Huffman.

Senate Bill 16 is now headed to Governor Abbott's desk to be signed into law. It has been supported by the National Rifle Association and the Texas State Rifle Association.