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BACKGROUND 
 

►Texas is known for regulating with a lighter hand than most states, which many analysts 

have cited as one reason the state continues to outperform other states economically. 

However, when it comes to occupational licensing, Texas often regulates with a heavy hand. 

Approximately one-third of Texas’ workforce is either individually licensed by the 

government or works for a licensed entity, exceeding the national average.1  

 

► A recent Texas Legislative Council report prepared for the House Government Reform 

Committee showed a sharp increase in licensed occupations since the 1960’s just as the size 

of government has grown.2 Indeed, the number of occupations licensed by the state of Texas 

has multiplied twelvefold in less than 65 years.3 There were only 43 non-alcohol-related 

trades that required licensure in 1945; today there are 514, encompassing 3 million Texas 

workers.4 These recently regulated industries include such diverse pursuits as athletic trainer, 

geoscientist, air conditioner technician, funeral director and mold assessor, among many 

others. In the 2007 session alone, Texas lawmakers licensed 21 new occupations and 

businesses, including property tax lenders, residential fire alarm technicians, professional 

land surveying firms, air conditioning and refrigeration technicians, hair braiders and 

weavers, combative sports events coordinators, residential appliance installers, tow truck 

operators, and vehicle storage facility employees.5 

 

►Various bills that failed in the last two legislative sessions would have licensed auto 

mechanics, roofers, sheetmetal workers, journeymen, and lactation consultants.  In the cases 

of roofers and mechanics, more well-established groups within the occupation sought 

licensing that would have the effect of excluding competitors and allowing them to raise 

prices charged to consumers.  A representative of the trade group advocating the legislation 

licensing mechanics responded to a legislator’s suggestion that a pilot licensing program first 

be tried in Houston by saying that it wouldn’t work because good mechanics who didn’t 

want to deal with the paperwork would go to other parts of the state.6 
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COST AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH LICENSING 
 

► A University of Minnesota study of occupational licensing found that “occupational 

licensing reduces employment growth in states that are licensed relative to those that are not 

regulated.”  States that licensed dieticians and nutritionists, respiratory therapists, and 

librarians experienced 20 percent lower employment growth in these fields.7  UT-Austin 

Economics Professor Daniel Hammermesh estimated that the “deadweight loss” to society 

from occupational licensing is between $34.8 and $41.7 billion per year.8 Moreover, research 

comparing outcomes among workers in the same field who are licensed in one state but not 

another has found no difference in quality.9 

 

► Occupational licensing violations carry criminal penalties.  Occupations Code Section 

165.151 makes it a Class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail) for violating “any rule” of 

any professional licensing board covered by that subchapter. This means many boards can 

effectively create their own criminal offenses and licensees must read the Texas Register 

every week to learn the latest crime. There are also specific criminal penalties for individual 

occupations. For example, the unlicensed practice of speech pathology is punishable by up to 

six months in county jail.  Moreover, practicing acupuncture without a license is a third 

degree felony punishable by up to ten years in prison. Significant differences between 

criminal and civil law make criminal law an overly blunt instrument for regulating non-

fraudulent business activities. Whereas administrative rulemaking and civil proceedings may 

utilize a cost-benefit analysis to evaluate the conduct at issue, no such balancing occurs in 

criminal proceedings because it is assumed that criminal laws cover only those activities that 

are inherently wrong. Also, criminal law, because it is enforced entirely by state prosecution, 

tends to minimize the role of the victim. Indeed, the prototypical “regulatory” offense such as 

mislabeling fruit under Chapter 93 of the Agriculture Code does not include anyone actually 

being harmed as an element of the offense. Finally, civil and criminal law have traditionally 

been distinguished by the requirement that a criminal must have a guilty state of mind, 

expressed in the Latin term mens rea, but an increasing number of regulatory offenses either 

dispense with the mens rea requirement or require merely criminal negligence rather than 

intentional, knowing, or reckless conduct. 

 

The chart below shows how many of the criminal penalties for occupational licensing 

violations are treated as being on par with more traditional offenses: 
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PUNCHING THE CLOCK AFTER DOING THE TIME 
 

► One consequence of licensing so many occupations is that sometimes otherwise qualified 

individuals with a minor criminal record unrelated to the occupation can be locked out of 

their livelihoods. Approximately 20 percent of Texans have a criminal record. Most of them 

served probation rather than being incarcerated, and many fully met their obligations and 

successfully completed probation only to face numerous collateral consequences.   

 

►While Chapter 53 of the Occupations Code governs ex-offender disqualification for most 

occupations, some occupations such as those regulated by the Private Security Board have 

their own statutes.  The Austin American-Statesman reported that the Board in 2006 alone 

“cited an unacceptable criminal history to summarily deny nearly 10,000 applicants the 

opportunity to work in one of the 16 professions it regulates,” including locksmiths and 

guard dog trainers.10  Many of these revocations involved minor misdemeanors decades ago 

that had no relevance to the occupation.  Unlike most other occupations, an arrest without a 

conviction can lead to license revocation and there is no appeal to the Board or the State 

Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH). Clearly, a sex offender should not be a licensed 

day care worker and someone who committed insurance fraud shouldn’t be licensed to sell 

insurance.  But many agencies have defined nearly all crimes as “directly related” under 

Chapter 53.  For example, a drug possession offense, even a misdemeanor, is considered 
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directly related to being a water well driller and an embalmer.  Any felony prevents a person 

from being a vehicle inspector. 

 

► Studies have found that individuals whose last offense occurred many years ago are very 

unlikely to re-offend.  Researchers at the University of South Carolina and University of 

Maryland concluded in a 2006 longitudinal study of ex-offenders that “after approximately 7 

years there is little to no distinguishable difference in risk of future offending between those 

with an old criminal record and those without a criminal record.”11  Moreover, most re-

offending acts, and the vast majority of those committed by non-violent ex-offenders, are 

nonviolent.12  Also, most of these offenses would have had the same impact whether or not 

the person had an occupational license.   

 

► Gainful employment significantly reduces criminal behavior.  A study by the federal court 

system found that nearly 88 percent of the 624 probationers who were employed both at the 

start and at the end of their supervision successfully complied with the conditions of their 

supervision while less than 37 percent of those unemployed at both stages did so.13  A 

Massachusetts study of parolees found that those employed within the first three months of 

leaving prison were more than seven times less likely to return to prison.14   A Pennsylvania 

study found that ex-offenders who are employed are much more likely to fulfill their 

restitution obligation.15 

 

► Evidence also indicates that the quality of the job, both in terms of pay and satisfaction, is 

correlated with an ex-offender’s recidivism rate.  Specifically, a University of Minnesota 

study of ex-offenders found that a shift from food service work (with a job quality score of 

.57) to often-licensed skilled craft work (with a job quality score of 1.08) decreases the 

chance of criminal behavior by approximately 11 percent.16    

 

► Legislation enacted in the 2009 session as House Bill 96317 now codified in Occupations 

Code Chapter 53.0211 allows appropriate, qualified ex-offenders to obtain a 

provisional/probationary license to enter certain occupations. This provides ex-offenders a 

strong, positive incentive to both comply with the law and be productive, as their 

provisional/probationary license may be revoked if they violate the rules of the occupation 

or, for those under community supervision, violate the terms of their supervision.  The 

legislation also required each licensing agency to implement the successful declaratory order 

procedure that the Board of Nursing Examiners has utilized for some time, whereby a 

prospective applicant can find out in advance whether their criminal record will be qualifying 

before spending the time and expense on a training program and other prerequisites.  Rules to 

implement this bill have been implemented by the Texas Department of Licensing and 

Regulation (TDLR), but it is not clear whether other agencies that regulate occupations have 

implemented the bill. Also, it is important that both licensing and correctional agencies take 
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steps within existing resources to let prospective applicants know about the opportunity to 

receive a provisional license. 

 

RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

►Avoid licensing new occupations, and revise laws to eliminate criminal penalties 

associated with many occupations. The Sunset Advisory Commission Occupational 

Licensing Model recommends: “Criminal penalties should exist only for agencies overseeing 

practices that can have dire consequences on the public health and welfare.” In 2008, the House 

Government Reform Committee compiled a document listing all occupational licensing penalties 

that spanned 142 pages. 

 

► Explore eliminating some licensing categories, such as bottled water operators, 

timekeepers, referees, talent agencies, and proprietary school employees.  

 

► Identify occupations that could be regulated with less government bureaucracy through 

private accreditation. For example, athletic trainers, who are now subject to state licensing 

requirements, could be certified by the National Athletic Trainers Board of Certification and 

court reporters may be certified by the National Court Reporters Association. Once it is 

determined these organizations have appropriate standards, those who are certified by the 

organizations could be exempt from having to obtain and maintain a state license. 

. 

►Replace or narrow the catch-all provision in Occupations Code Section 165.151 that 

makes it a Class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail) for violating “any rule” of any 

professional licensing board.  Rules adopted by agencies that regulate occupations should 

not automatically carry criminal penalties. This provision should be replaced or revised to 

specify that the default is civil penalties or license revocation and that a criminal penalty only 

applies where specifically and statutorily authorized by the Legislature.  

 

►Monitor TDLR and other licensing agencies to ensure that well-conceived rules 

implement HB963.  

 

► Avoid duplicative licensing of both the company and its employees.  For example, 

both alarm companies and their salespeople and installers must be licensed.  If the company 

has a license, they can simply be required, as part of compliance, to screen their employees. 

 

► Create an optional bonding route in some occupations where, in lieu of annual 

bureaucratic oversight, the person or company could post a bond.  This is well suited to 

occupations that are regulated in large part due to the concern that there might be fly-by-

night operations where, for example, a consumer could be left with a product or system but 

no one to honor the warranty or service it.  For instance, City of Houston regulations on 
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itinerant vendors provide for one-time registration and posting of a bond, but no ongoing 

regulation.  Although it is not clear whether cities should regulate peddlers, at least it is a 

one-time process. 

 

► Require that, as part of existing sunset reviews of all agencies, any occupations 

regulated by that agency be reviewed to determine whether licensing is still necessary. 

 

►Require all proposals to license new occupations first be reviewed by the Sunset 

Advisory Commission. The Commission would provide a cost/benefit analysis and identify 

alternatives to licensing. At least 14 states including Oregon, Arizona, and Florida have 

adopted provisions providing for such a “sunrise” review of proposals to license new 

occupations.18 Additionally, the Sunset Advisory Commission should be required, in the 

course of their regular reviews of each agency, to determine whether the occupations they 

regulate still need to be regulated and whether existing criminal penalties are necessary. 

These provisions constituted House Bill 154319 by Representative Bill Callegari in 2009, 

though the bill would have authorized a sunrise review upon request, rather than required it.  

 

► Allow unlicensed individuals to perform appropriate functions within certain fields 

which would not endanger the public if they pro-actively inform the prospective 

customer that they are not licensed. 

  

► Require that fiscal notes for bills that involve licensing new occupations include 

estimated cost to the economy in fewer jobs and consumers in higher prices. 

  

► Create a safe harbor for minor violations where licensee must be given time to come 

into compliance and require licensing agency to provide notice and deadline for licensee 

to comply and cure before case is referred to Attorney General for prosecution or civil 

litigation. 

 

►Create more apprentice categories so people can start working immediately under 

someone who is licensed.  Current examples include plumbing apprentice and shampoo 

apprentice. 

 

►Review the scope of practice rules of key licensing agencies to identify those that may 

be unduly restrictive. For example, restrictions on advanced practice nurses’ scope of 

practice have driven up costs by reducing what tasks nurses can perform, even with 

telemedicine oversight by a doctor.20 

 

► Review initial and continuing licensing requirements to ensure they do not 

unnecessarily exclude qualified individuals, such as overly burdensome written exams 

in fields that involve manual labor.  In 2007, under HB2211, the bill that would have 
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licensed mechanics, prospective mechanics would have had to pass a written exam, though 

many mechanics may do excellent work with their hands despite little educational 

background. Consequently, their performance on a written exam would not accurately reflect 

their competency. Additionally, the 30 hours of continuing education requirement for 

mechanics was more than an attorney must complete.   

 

► Fully consider the market mechanisms ranging from word-of-mouth to Angie’s List 

to the Better Business Bureau  that increasingly enable consumers to select qualified 

individuals without relying on a government stamp of approval.  There are also many 

private and voluntary certification providers for occupations, such as the National Institute 

for Automotive Service Excellence, whose seal for mechanics and auto repair shops is 

commonly recognized.  Consumers can also file cases, particularly in small claims court, if 

they cannot resolve their disputes with merchants and the Attorney General enforces laws 

against fraud. 

 

► Clarify overly broad statutory provisions such as language inadvertently added by 

HB2644 in 2007. This language states: “A person may not for compensation perform or 

offer to perform any service with a purported health benefit that involves physical contact 

with a client.”  If enforced, this would presumably require personal trainers and yoga 

instructors to be licensed. 

 

►Ensure that an appropriate culpable mental state is included in the elements of all 

occupational offenses. If an occupational violation is committed unknowingly, a civil 

penalty or license revocation is more appropriate than a criminal penalty.    

 

►Provide discretion in statutes governing certain occupations licensed by the 

Department of Public Safety Law Enforcement Bureau so that the Bureau can consider 

applicants with minor, unrelated offenses that occurred many years ago.  Currently, this 

agency, unlike others, has no discretion to consider applicants who have any type of criminal 

history, even if it is minor, ancient, and unrelated to the occupation. When the state began 

licensing locksmiths through this Bureau in 2005, hundreds of capable and honest locksmiths 

were locked out of their livelihoods for offenses of this nature due to the absence of any 

discretion in this statute that would allow the agency to exercise common sense.21  

 

►Amend the Code of Criminal Procedure to allow for citation without arrest for 

additional misdemeanors and prohibit arrest for regulatory Class C misdemeanors.  It 

does not make sense to arrest and jail ordinary business people who are responsive when 

cited for a regulatory misdemeanor that does not pose an immediate danger to the public. 

Yet, under current state law, arrest is mandatory for all Class A and B misdemeanors except 

seven offenses specified in HB239122 enacted in 2007. Law enforcement and correctional 

resources can be conserved by simply issuing citations either requiring a court appearance or 
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offering payment by mail or online for many Class A and B misdemeanors, including 

occupational and other business regulatory offenses. 
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