

Senate Committee on Transportation & Homeland Security **House Committee on Transportation**

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING

HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE HEARING ROOM; E1.030 OVERFLOW ROOMS: E1.038 (SENATE FINANCE) AND E1.026 AUSTIN, TEXAS FEBRUARY 1, 2010 - 8AM

- 1. Convene
 - Call to order
 - b. Roll call
 - Opening remarks
- Quarterly update: Texas Department of Public Safety
 - Steve McCraw, Executive Director
- Quarterly update: Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) *Including a discussion of vehicle registration fees*

- , Victor Vandergriff, Chairman, DMV
- Rebecca Davio, Director of Vehicle Titles and Registration
- c. Betsy Price, Tarrant County 1ax Assessor Collector
 d. Mary Ann Lovelady, Jones County Tax Assessor-Collector
- Panel: Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) Funding
 - Deirdre Delisi, Chair, Texas Transportation Commission
 - Dr. Michael Walton, Chair, 2030 Committee Ken Allen, Member, 2030 Committee

 - Michael Morris, Director of Transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments
 - Amadeo Saenz, Executive Director, TxDOT (Quarterly update)
- 5. Panel: Transportation Impacts
 - a. Locally Elected Officials
 - i. Mayor Tom Leppert, City of Dallas
 - ii. Mayor Mike Moncrief, City of Fort Worth
 - Mayor Robert Cluck, City of Arlington
 - iv. Mayor John Cook, City of El Paso
 - v. Mayor Susan Narvaiz, City of San Marcos
 - Judge Nelson Wolff, Bexar County
 - vii. Judge Sam Biscoe, Travis County
 - **Business Community Leaders**
 - i. Bill Hammond, Texas Association of Business
 - Bill Allaway, Texas Taxpayers and Research Association Jim Oberwetter, Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce Bill Thornton, Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce

 - Fred Heldenfels, Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce
 - Jeff Moseley, Greater Houston Partnership vi.
 - vii. Richard Perez, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
- 6. Panel: Transportation and Debt Finance
 - a. James Bass, Chief Financial Officer, TxDOT
 - Robert C. Kline, Executive Director, Texas Bond Review Board
 - Carol Polumbo, McCall, Parkhurst & Horton
- 7. Transportation Reinvestment Zones

 - James Bass, Chief Financial Officer, TxDOT Brian Cassidy, Partner, Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell
 - Brian Brooks, City Manager, City of Forney, Texas
 - Bennett Sandlin, General Counsel, Texas Municipal League Rafael Aldrete-Sanchez, Texas Transportation Institute
- **Invited Testimony**
 - Pat Carlson, Texas Eagle Forum
 - John Colyandro, Texas Conservative Coalition
 - Terri Hall, Texans Uniting for Reform and Freedom
 - Peggy Venable, Americans for Prosperity
- **Public Testimony**

Please limit remarks to 3 minutes or less and please give any handouts to committee staff.

10. Recess