### Senate Interim Committee on Electric Utility Restructuring

#### MINUTES

Wednesday, February 4, 1998 9:00 am Senate Chamber

\*\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Interim Committee on Electric Utility Restructuring was held on Wednesday, February 4, 1998 in the Senate Chamber at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### MEMBERS PRESENT

Senator David Sibley, Chair Senator Kenneth Armbrister Senator Gonzalo Barrientos Senator Teel Bivins Senator David Cain Senator Troy Fraser Senator Jane Nelson

# MEMBERS ABSENT

none

\*\*\*\*\*

Chair Sibley called the meeting to order at 9:15 am. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.

The Chair advised that the Committee would focus first on customer protection and called the invited panel to address this issue. The panelists were:

Barbara Alexander, Consumer Affairs Consultant Suzi McClellan, Office of Public Utility Counsel David Mintz, Texas Coalition for Competitive Electricity Bob Reilley, Enron Corporation Tom Baker, Association of Electric Companies of Texas Janee Briesemeister, Consumers Union

Upon completion of the panelists' presentations and response to members' questions, Chair Sibley called the second panel to address environmental and renewable energy issues. These panelists were:

Jeffrey A. Saitas, Office of Air Quality, Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission John Hoffner, Texas Renewable Energy Industries Association Tom "Smitty" Smith, Public Citizen's Texas Office Ed Feith, Association of Electric Companies of Texas Karl Rabago, Environmental Defense Fund Randy Eminger, Center for Energy and Economic Development Jane Pulaski, State Energy Conservation Office

At 12:40 p.m. Senator Armbrister assumed the Chair, and at 1:00 p.m., Senator Sibley resumed the Chair.

## Senate Interim Committee on Electric Utility Restructuring

Following the second panelists' testimony and response to members' questions, Chair Sibley advised that public testimony would commence. Due to the number of public witnesses registering to speak, the Chair moved that each person limit testimony to three minutes; without objection, it was so ordered. Chair Sibley then called the first witness. All witnesses, including panelists, are listed in order of their testimony.

Barbara Harwood, representing herself, Carrollton, Texas Ron Purpora, representing American Lung Association of Texas, Austin, Texas Susan Pitman, representing American Lung Association of Texas, Austin, Texas Roland Duty, representing himself, Waco, Texas Mary Duty, representing Children's Advocacy Center, Waco, Texas

The next witness, Johnette Hicks, representing Equal Opportunity Action Committee, Waco, Texas, submitted a petition Supporting Universal Electricity Service. The petition was circulated by Texas Association of Community Action Agencies and requested that all Texas households have affordable electricity; and that all utilities should offer a special low-income rate for customers living in poverty, a low-income weatherization program, and other programs to help low-income customers prevent termination of electricity service. Public testimony then resumed.

Boyce Vardiman, representing himself, West, Texas Bruce Allen, representing himself, Waco, Texas W. F. Barrett, representing himself, Valley Mills, Texas Randall Chapman, representing himself, Austin, Texas

At 3:25 p.m. Senator Barrientos assumed the Chair, and at 3:45 p.m. Senator Sibley resumed the Chair while public testimony continued.

James Fitzpatrick, representing American Association of Retired Persons, Austin, Texas Alan Rose, representing JC Penney Company & Texas Retailers Association, Dallas, Texas Jerome Vacek, representing consumers, Corsicana, Texas Carol Biedrzycki, representing Texas Ratepayers Organization to Save Energy, Austin, Texas Karen Swenson, representing low income households, Nacogdoches, Texas Peter Altman, representing the SEED Coalition, Austin, Texas Dwayne Anderson, representing Clean Water Action, Austin, Texas Robert King, representing National Association of Energy Service Companies, Austin, Texas Chris Strand, representing himself, Austin, Texas Ju Vega, representing Sheltering Arms Senior Services, Houston, Texas Marjorie Wood, representing HEB Grocery Company, San Antonio, Texas Brooks Hickerson, representing himself, Austin, Texas

Chair Sibley commended the next witness, Kirtley Wienbroer, representing Students for Earth Awareness at UT, Austin, Texas, for keeping his testimony under three minutes. Public testimony then resumed as follows:

Bill Medaille, representing himself, Austin, Texas Tommy Benavides, representing himself, Austin, Texas Kim Phillips, representing herself and the Texas PTA, Austin, Texas Karin Ascot, representing herself, Austin, Texas Mike Sloan, representing himself, Austin, Texas Todd Cypert, representing himself, Meadow, Texas Michael Aaron, representing himself, Austin, Texas Dr. Bob Farmer, representing himself, Gatesville, Texas Nancy Lockhoof, representing herself, Austin, Texas

## Senate Interim Committee on Electric Utility Restructuring

C. C. Bowman, representing himself, Marshall, Texas Tim Curtis, representing himself, Dale, Texas

The following persons registered to testify but were unable to remain at the hearing until they were called:

Herb Williams, representing Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, Austin, Texas
Bill Tilney, representing himself, Austin, Texas
Leonard McLaughlin, representing himself and Lost Creek MUD, Austin, Texas
Frank Arredondo, representing Texas Association of Community Action Agencies, San Marcos, Texas
Karen Heikkala, representing himself, Austin, Texas
J. D. Porter, representing himself, Austin, Texas
Enrique Valdivia, representing himself, San Antonio, Texas
Tara Tune, representing Public Citizens members, Austin, Texas
Tom Romberg, representing Texas Air Conditioning Contractors Association, Austin, Texas
Kevern Joyce, representing TNP Enterprises and Texas New Mexico Power Company, Fort Worth, Texas

The following persons registered but did not wish to testify:

Adan Martinez, representing Texas General Land Office, Austin, Texas Richard Walker, representing Central & South West Corp. & AECT, Tulsa, Oklahoma Robert L. Wright, representing Texas Energy Coordination Council & Union Carbide, Victoria, Texas Jim Walker, representing himself as a member of the Sustainable Building Coalition, Austin, Texas Dr. Yvonne M. Hansen, representing herself, Austin, Texas

There being no further business, at 5:50 pm Chair Sibley moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator David Sibley, Chair Barbara Henderson, Clerk