Senator Kel Seliger: District 31

Senator Seliger debates legislation on the Senate floor

Occupation: Steel Service Centers, Klockner/Lake Steel
Education: Graduate of Borger Public Schools and Dartmouth College
Hometown: Amarillo
Party: Republican

Kel Seliger was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2004. Senate District 31 spans 37 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin and includes Amarillo, Midland, Odessa and Big Spring.

Born in Amarillo and raised in Borger, Senator Seliger is a graduate of Borger public schools and Dartmouth College. He spent 35 years in the steel industry.

Senator Seliger currently serves as Chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee and is a member of the Senate Education Committee, Senate Finance Committee, Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development, Senate Committee on Business and Commerce, and the Select Committee on Government Facilities.

Senator Seliger has been recognized by many groups for his conservative principles as well as his dedication to small government and local control. He has been named a Fighter for Free Enterprise by the Texas Association of Business four times for his steadfast support of policies that encourage and promote a healthy business climate in Texas. Seliger is privileged to be the recipient of the Texas Municipal League 2015 Legislator of the Year Award, Texas Conservative Coalition's Conservative Champion Award, Texas Association of Counties Friend of County Government Award, Texas Wildlife Association's Conservation Hero Award, the Conservative Roundtable of Texas' 2015 Effective Conservative Lawmaker, and the Texas Parent Teacher Association Legislative Honor Roll for his work during the 84th Legislative Session.

Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Seliger served four terms as Mayor of Amarillo and as a member of the Amarillo City Commission and the Amarillo Civil Service Commission.

He and his wife Nancy reside in Amarillo, and have two sons, Jonathan and Matthew.


Press Room
[Press Archives: 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005]

Icon: Media BroadcastMay 27, 2015
Senator Seliger's Capitol Update (MP3 format)

Icon: Media BroadcastMay 13, 2015
Senator Seliger's Capitol Update (MP3 format)

Icon: Media BroadcastApril 15, 2015
Senator Seliger's Capitol Update (MP3 format)

Icon: Press ReleaseJanuary 15, 2015
Senator Seliger Files Legislation to Improve Public Education

Icon: Press ReleaseNovember 10, 2014
Senator Seliger Files Bill to Fund Capital Construction Projects

[ MORE ... ]


E-mail Form

As someone who lives and works in District 31, your thoughts and opinions regarding legislation and other issues which may affect you are important to me. Please use the feedback form provided below as a means of communicating with my office. Thank you for your interest.

Senator Kel Seliger

( )  

This form requires that javascript be enabled. Please enable javascript and reload this page.



Office Information

Capitol Office
Physical Address:
The Honorable Kel Seliger
State Capitol, Room GE.4
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0131
(512) 475-3733 fax

Mailing Address:
The Honorable Kel Seliger
P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
District Office (Amarillo)
The Amarillo District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher and Wheeler.

Physical Address:
410 S. Taylor, Suite 1600
Amarillo, TX 79101
(806) 374-8994
(806) 374-4607 fax

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 9155
Amarillo, TX 79105
District Office (Big Spring)
The Big Spring District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Howard, Martin, Glasscock, Bailey, Cochran and Yoakum.

401 Austin, Suite 101
Big Spring, TX 79720
(432) 268-9909
(432) 268-9899 fax
District Office (Midland)
The Midland District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Midland, Loving, Winkler and Gaines.

6 Desta Drive, Suite 3360
Midland, TX 79705
(432) 620-0436
(432) 686-7748 fax
District Office (Odessa)
The Odessa District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Ector and Andrews.

6005 Eastridge Rd., Suite 210
Odessa, Texas 79762
(432) 620-0436
(432) 686-7748 fax


84th Session Committee Membership


District Analysis: District 31

Icon: District Map
Click the map to view a detailed district map in PDF format