Senator Kel Seliger: District 31

Sign up for Senator Seliger's Texas Senate District 31 Blog


Senator Kel Seliger -- District 31 Blog

Senator Seliger debates legislation on the Senate floor

Occupation: Steel Service Centers, Klockner/Lake Steel
Education: Graduate of Borger Public Schools and Dartmouth College
Hometown: Amarillo
Party: Republican

Kel Seliger was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2004. Senate District 31 currently spans 37 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin and includes Amarillo, Midland, Odessa and Big Spring.

Born in Amarillo and raised in Borger, Senator Seliger is a graduate of Borger public schools and Dartmouth College. He spent 35 years in the steel industry.

Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst appointed Senator Seliger to serve as Chairman of the Senate Higher Education Committee for the 83rd Legislature. Senator Seliger currently serves on the Senate Education Committee, Senate Finance Committee, Senate Committee on Natural Resources, and the Senate Committee on Open Government.

In the interim following the 82nd Legislature, Lt. Governor Dewhurst appointed Seliger to serve on the Joint Committee on Oversight of Higher Education Governance, Excellence & Transparency, as well as the newly created Joint Interim Committee to Study the Public School Finance System.

During the 82nd Legislative Session, Senator Seliger served as Chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Redistricting where he collaborated with all members of the Texas Senate to successfully pass new district maps for Congress, the State Board of Education, Texas House of Representatives, and Texas Senate. In addition, Senator Seliger continued to be a key leader in the area of groundwater policy. As a member of the Senate Natural Resources Committee, Senator Seliger advanced measures to improve the process for establishing desired future conditions and the management of priority groundwater management area matters. He also played a key role as a member of the Senate Finance Subcommittee on Public School Finance.

Senator Seliger is privileged to be the recipient of the Bell Helicopter 2012 Legislative Leadership Award, the Texas Municipal League's 2011 Legislator of the Year, the Texas District and County Attorneys Association's 2009 Law and Order Award, Legislator of the Year 2009 from the Associated Security Services and Investigators of the State of Texas and the citizens of Odessa honored him with the 2009 Heritage of Odessa Foundation Community Statesman Award in Government. The Texas Association of Business recently recognized Senator Seliger a third time as a Fighter for Free Enterprise for his steadfast support of policies that encourage and promote a healthy business climate in Texas.

Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Seliger served four terms as Mayor of Amarillo and as a member of the Amarillo City Commission and the Amarillo Civil Service Commission. Senator Seliger is currently a member of the National Rifle Association, the Texas Farm Bureau, and the Harley-Davidson Owners Group.

He and his wife Nancy reside in Amarillo, and have two sons, Jonathan and Matthew.


Press Room
[Press Archives: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005]

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 14, 2013
Statement by Senator Seliger on Governor Rick Perry's Veto of SB 15

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 14, 2013
Statement by Senator Seliger on Governor Rick Perry's Veto of HB 3509

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 4, 2013
Media Advisory - Redistricting Field Hearings

Icon: Press ReleaseMay 25, 2013
Statement by Senator Seliger on Governor Rick Veto of SB 346

Icon: Media BroadcastMay 2, 2013
Senator Seliger's Capitol Update (MP3 format)

[ MORE ... ]


E-mail Form

As someone who lives and works in District 31, your thoughts and opinions regarding legislation and other issues which may affect you are important to me. Please use the feedback form provided below as a means of communicating with my office. Thank you for your interest.

Senator Kel Seliger

( )  

This form requires that javascript be enabled. Please enable javascript and reload this page.



Office Information

Capitol Office
Physical Address:
The Honorable Kel Seliger
State Capitol, Room GE.4
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0131
(512) 475-3733 fax

Mailing Address:
The Honorable Kel Seliger
P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
District Office (Amarillo)
The Amarillo District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher and Wheeler.

Physical Address:
410 S. Taylor, Suite 1600
Amarillo, TX 79101
(806) 374-8994
(806) 374-4607 fax

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 9155
Amarillo, TX 79105
District Office (Big Spring)
The Big Spring District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Glasscock, Howard and Martin.

401 Austin, Suite 101
Big Spring, TX 79720
(432) 268-9909
(432) 268-9899 fax
District Office (Midland)
The Midland District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Gaines, Loving, Midland and Winkler.

6 Desta Drive, Suite 3360
Midland, TX 79705
(432) 620-0436
(432) 686-7748 fax
District Office (Odessa)
The Odessa District Office handles casework for the constituents in the following counties: Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Ector and Yoakum.

4840 E. University, Suite 205
Odessa, TX 79762
(432) 550-7476
(432) 367-0034 fax


83rd Legislature Committee Membership


District Analysis: District 31

Icon: District Map
Click the map to view a detailed district map in PDF format