from the Office of State Senator Craig Estes, District 30

For Immediate Release
January 30, 2008
Contact: Jody Withers

Much of Senate District 30 included in Governor's Disaster Proclamation

Austin - State Senator Craig Estes (Wichita Falls-R) released a list of 15 counties in his North Texas Senate District 30 which have been included in the Governor's Disaster Proclamation.

The counties from Senate District 30 included in the disaster proclamation are Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cooke, Denton, Grayson, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Stephens, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, and Young.

"My office is closely monitoring the impact of these wildfires, and I am in touch with the Governor's office to secure the necessary state action to provide whatever resources are available," said Estes.

Inclusion in the Governor's Disaster Proclamation allows affected counties to be eligible for state assistance.

According the Governor's office, the State is providing seven Texas Military Forces utility helicopters stationed in Austin, San Antonio, and Dallas/Fort Worth as well as CH-47 helicopter on standby in the DFW area. The Texas Department of Transportation is providing fuel for Volunteer Fire Department personnel and assisting in suppressing the fires.