From the Office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte

For Immediate Release
January 27, 2009
Contact: Kathryn Freeman, (512) 463-0126

Senator Van de Putte Files Resolution to Pay Tribute to Texans Wounded in Iraq and Afghanistan on Wounded Warrior Day

(AUSTIN, TX) — On Tuesday, January 27, 2009, Senator Leticia Van de Putte will be recognized on Senate Resolution # 33, which honors six service members who were wounded while serving their country abroad during Operations Iraqi and Enduring Freedom.

Wounded Warrior Day is held in solemn recognition of the sacrifices our brave men and women make in our name in far-off, turbulent lands. It is the selfless service of our Texan warriors and of all American servicemen and women that we honor on Wounded Warrior Day.

Texan soldiers, sailors, airmen, and marines have been very active in the missions in Iraq and Afghanistan. Texans comprise 195, 241 of the over 1.6 million American service members that have been deployed since the inception of Operations Iraqi and Enduring Freedom. Texans make up 8.25% of our nation's population, yet 12.2% of those deployed to theatre are from Texas. 32,977 Americans have been wounded in action, of which 3,190 are Texans, a figure that represents further evidence of Texas' significant contribution to the missions in Iraq and Afghanistan.

The six honorees are LCPL David Molina, U.S. Marine Corps, SSG Leroy Petry, U.S. Army, SPC Razan Saied, U.S. Army, SGT James Ford, U.S. Army, SSG Shawn Green, U.S. Army, and CPL Alan R. Babin, Jr., U.S. Army. We honor them, as they have so honored our nation and our state through their devoted and tireless service to our country.

"The ultimate sacrifice paid by the 4,856 Americans who have lost their lives as a result of their willingness to put service to their country above all else will never be forgotten." said Senator Van De Putte. "Though our deep and abiding gratitude can never be fully expressed, Wounded Warrior Day represents our humble attempt to honor their memories."

The Senate convenes at 10:30 am on Tuesday, January 27, and the resolution will be read shortly thereafter. Press is welcome.

Senator Van de Putte (D-San Antonio) serves as Chair of the Senate Veteran Affairs and Military Installations Committee.