Media Advisory
From the Office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte

For Immediate Release
February 26, 2007
Contact: Tiffany Champion
(512) 463-0126

Senator Van de Putte to be Honored by The Texas Association of Mexican-American Chambers of Commerce

(AUSTIN) -- On Tuesday, February 27, The Texas Association of Mexican-American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC) will honor Senator Leticia Van de Putte with the Distinguished Leadership Award at the 7th Biennial Legislative Awards Gala.

TAMACC hosts the biennial event in honor of the Senate Hispanic Caucus and the Mexican American Legislative Caucus of the Texas State Legislature. Six awards will be presented in recognition of legislators' leadership, community involvement and commitment to the Hispanic communities of Texas.

Senator Van de Putte will receive the Distinguished Leadership Award for her inspiration to the Hispanic Community through advocacy efforts in Texas and across the United States. Other honorees include Former State Representative Melissa Noriega, who will receive the Educational Leadership Award; The Honorable Silvestre Reyes, who will receive the International Leadership Award; Texas State Representative Norma Chávez, who will receive the Humanitarian Leadership Award; and Texas State Representative Pete P. Gallego, who will receive the Minority Business Initiatives Leadership Award. The San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce will also be recognized with the Hispanic Chamber Legislative Leadership Award.

The Gala will be held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Austin.

Senator Van de Putte is a member of the National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators, where she served as President from 2003 to 2005. In 2002, she served as Chair of the Senate Hispanic Caucus.