From the Office of State Senator Troy Fraser

For Immediate Release
January 16, 2001
Contact: William A. Scott - (512) 463-0124

Fraser Resolution Designates Breckenridge "Mural Capital of Texas"

AUSTIN -- State Senator Troy Fraser today filed legislation designating Breckenridge the "Mural Capital of Texas," and will meet with a delegation of Breckenridge community leaders and introduce them on the Senate floor Wednesday after they arrive in Austin for a day at the Texas Capitol.

Fraser, who represents Stephens County, authored the resolution at the request of City Manager Gary Ernest, who noted that the collection of historical mural within the city limits won the state's best public improvement project by the Texas Downtown Association in 1999.

"These murals are not only beautiful, but they reflect Breckenridge's proud past and capture the community's unique heritage from an oil boomtown to the home of great high school football," Fraser said. "It's an honor and pleasure to author this legislation and the recognition is well deserved."

Senate Resolution 25 states that the murals by Billy Ines, most of which are based on the photographs of long-time Breckenridge resident Basil Clemons, "successfully captured the nuances of a bygone time."

"Using building exteriors as his canvases, including one two stories high and a half-block in length, Mr. Ines has depicted detailed scenes from Breckenridge's boom era, as well as a tribute to the town's championship football teams titled 'The Spirit of the Buckeroos,'" the resolution states.

"Resolved, that the Senate of the 77th Texas Legislature hereby recognize Breckenridge as the Mural Capital of Texas and commend the city and Mr. Ines for their significant contributions to the artistic landscape of the Lone Star State," it concludes.

The community leaders will begin their day at the Capitol with a breakfast reception, and will meet with Fraser and other legislators during the day. Among those scheduled to attend are mural artist Billy Ines, Mayor Virgil Moore, City Manager Gary Ernest, Chamber of Commerce President Mickie Morse, and Community Development Board member Mary Francis Thompson.