News Release from the office of Senator Carlos Uresti

March 3, 2008
CONTACT: 512-463-0119

Senator Uresti to Open New District Office in Eagle Pass

Senator Carlos Uresti will celebrate his commitment to the citizens of Senate District 19 on Saturday, March 15th with the opening of a new district office in Eagle Pass.

"This district office is an important tool for constituents, commerce, and international relations," said Senator Uresti. "I believe communities should have easy access to their legislators. We work for you, and we need to hear you. I want the community to feel comfortable coming into this office because it belongs to them."

Senator Uresti will also participate in the International Friendship Parade at 11am.

"I'm so proud to be a part of the International Friendship Festival. The parade symbolizes the fellowship between Eagle Pass and Piedras Negras, but there is also a bigger picture here," Senator Uresti said. "It is very important to have a good relationship with our neighbors, whether they be individuals, cities, states, or countries."

Following the parade, the public is invited to attend the Grand Opening and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony from 3 to 4 pm at the Eagle Pass District Office.

Senator Uresti will be available for questions at a town hall meeting and reception at the Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino (814 Lucky Eagle Drive) from 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm.

The new district office will be located at 501 E. Main Street, Suite 114 and will be under the direction of Lorena Estrada. Estrada comes to us most recently from the Kickapoo Lucky Eagle Casino, where she served as the Employee Benefits Administrator. She has also worked for the Maverick County Judge's Office. Ms. Estrada is a graduate of the University of Incarnate Word, and is a native of Eagle Pass.

Carlos I. Uresti is the senator from State Senate District 19, a 23 county area stretching along the U.S.-Mexico border, from San Antonio to El Paso County, including all or part of the following counties: Bandera, Bexar, Brewster, Culberson, Crockett, El Paso, Edwards, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Reeves, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, and Winkler. Covering 55,000 square miles, the district contains 62 school districts and spans two time zones.

For more information please call Arthur Reyna or Vanessa Macias Ballou at 512-463-0119.