News Release from the office of Senator Carlos Uresti

February 11, 2008
CONTACT: 512-463-0119

National Trust for Historic Preservation Names Fort Davis as one of 2008's Dozen Distinctive Destinations

SAN ANTONIO, TX -- On Saturday, February 9th, State Senator Carlos I. Uresti joined the National Trust for Historic Preservation (NTHP) in announcing Fort Davis being named to the list of 2008's Dozen Distinctive Destinations in America.

"It is my pleasure to be among the first to congratulate Fort Davis," Senator Uresti said. "It is clear to me that the citizens of this wonderful town are dedicated to preserving the rural heritage of Texas and America."

According to the NTHP, the twelve communities that made the list of 2008 Dozen Distinctive Destinations were chosen because they represent the richness and diversity of America's cultural heritage. Lacking many big city conveniences, Fort Davis not only qualified for the list but exemplifies what it means to guard an important part of the legacy of Texas history.

"Though I was born and raised in San Antonio, my appreciation for West Texas grows with each day I spend here. Hopefully this award will attract more visitors to this unique place," Senator Uresti said.

The NTHP chose Fort Davis as a Distinctive Destination because citizens have worked to preserve the unique qualities of the town by rejecting commercial sprawl and enacting preservation laws to maintain the look and feel of days past. Like other Texas historical sites, Fort Davis is a prized possession in the heart of West Texas. It is a living museum and a testament to maintaining the rural history and the cultural heritage of both Texas and America.

Carlos I. Uresti is the senator from State Senate District 19, a 23 county area stretching along the U.S.-Mexico border, from San Antonio to El Paso County, including all or part of the following counties: Bandera, Bexar, Brewster, Culberson, Crockett, El Paso, Edwards, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Reeves, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, and Winkler. Covering 55,000 square miles, the district contains 62 school districts, and spans two time zones. As the largest geographical senate district in the contiguous 48 states, Senate District 19 is larger than 24 states and 25 countries.

For more information, please contact Arthur Reyna or Vanessa Macias at (512) 463-0119.