News Release from the office of Senator Carlos Uresti

May 27, 2009
Mark Langford at 512.463.0119

Governor signs bill for Texas A&M University-San Antonio

AUSTIN — Legislative efforts by Sen. Carlos Uresti and other members of the Bexar delegation paid off Wednesday with the signing of a bill that will allow construction to begin on a Texas A&M University campus in South San Antonio.

"It's a great day for the South Side, a great day for all of San Antonio," Uresti said. "It's taken 10 years, but the dream for a stand alone university in this underserved area of the city is much closer to reality."

Gov. Rick Perry signed a bill that will free up tuition revenue bonds for three new Texas A&M campuses. Uresti and Texas A&M officials said the process of hiring an architect and a builder for the San Antonio campus will begin next month. The new facility should be ready for students in the fall of 2011.

The more than 1,000 students attending the existing Texas A&M University-Kingsville System Center- San Antonio campus are crammed into makeshift classroom at a former elementary school.

"It's a great feeling to know that students who began their college careers in such conditions will finish up in the new buildings of a modern university campus," Uresti said.

Uresti said the bill, which frees up $40 million in tuition revenue bonds for construction, was a top accomplishment of the legislative session.

"Texas A&M University at San Antonio will provide educational opportunities that have not been available to young people on the South Side and be an economic generator for the entire region," he said.

Carlos Uresti is the senator from State Senate District 19 representing over 750,000 residents throughout a 23 county area stretching along the U.S.-Mexico border, from San Antonio to El Paso County, including all or part of the following: Bandera, Bexar, Brewster, Culberson, Crockett, El Paso, Edwards, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Presidio, Real, Reeves, Sutton, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Ward, and Winkler counties. Covering 55,000 square miles, the district contains 62 school districts and spans two time zones.