Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
Fax (512) 463-0923


May 19, 2014
Contact: Megan Hanson, (512) 463-0112

Senator Nelson Receives Advocacy in Action Award

AUSTIN — Texas State Senator Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) received the Advocacy in Action award from the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network for her work to advance the fight against cancer in Texas. Senator Nelson received the award while participating in the Lewisville Relay for Life and was chosen for her leadership in passing reforms for the Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) and securing funding to ensure CPRIT's research can continue.

"It was an honor to participate in the Lewisville Relay for Life and to be surrounded by so many inspirational survivors and volunteers for the American Cancer Society," said Senator Nelson. "I am very grateful to receive the Advocacy in Action Award from the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network. Working together, I know we will defeat cancer!"

"Senator Nelson worked to make sure Texas remains a leader in cancer research and prevention," said Cam Scott, Texas government relations director for the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network. "The impact of her leadership will benefit cancer patients for generations to come."

Senator Nelson has recently received several awards for her work, including the Champion for Free Enterprise Award from the Texas Association of Business; the Courageous Conservative Award from the Texas Conservative Coalition; the 2013 Women's Health Hero Award from the Texas Women's Health Coalition; the Texas Champion for Children Award from Texas CASA; the Patient Protection Award from the Texas Medical Association; the Physicians Patient Advocacy Award from Texas Academy of Family Physicians; Senate Legislator of the Year from Texas Nurse Practitioners; and the Courageous Defender of Life Award from Texas Alliance for Life.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Denton and Tarrant counties. She is chair of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee and the highest ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.