From the Office of State Senator Kel Seliger, District 31

January 11, 2012
Contact: Gina Dowdy, (806) 374-8994

Senator Seliger Appointed to the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science Advisory Board

AUSTIN, TX — Today, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst appointed Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) to the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science Advisory Board. Seliger will replace Senator Florence Shapiro, current Chair of the Senate Education Committee, who will be retiring from the Texas Senate.

Created by the Texas Legislature in 1987, the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science (TAMS) is a two-year, residential, early college entrance program serving approximately 380 Texans at the University of North Texas. The program allows talented students to concurrently complete their junior and senior years of high school and their first two years of college.

The TAMS Advisory Board consists of nine board members who offer advice on curriculum, student life and admissions. Senator Seliger's term will expire on August 31, 2015.

"I think this is an important and innovative program and hope that I can help it become a model for math and science education throughout Texas and nationwide."

Seliger represents District 31 in the Texas Senate, spanning 26 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin. Seliger currently serves as Chair of the Senate Select Committee on Redistricting, as well as actively serving on the Education, Finance, International Relations and Trade, and Natural Resources Committees.