from the Office of State Senator Craig Estes, District 30

For Immediate Release
December 4, 2007
Contact: Jody Withers

Senator Estes Files for Another Term

AUSTIN - State Senator Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) officially filed Tuesday for re-election to seek another term as State Senator for Senate District 30.

"Since my first election in 2001, I have had the distinct honor and pleasure to serve the good people of North Texas in the State Senate and with the permission of the people, I would like to continue serving our communities, counties, and region as your State Senator for another term," said Estes.

During the Regular Session of the 80th Legislature, Estes worked to restore the promise made to taxpayers to use the proceeds from the sales tax revenue on sporting goods for state and local parks, supported a $14 billion school property tax rate reduction, and continued to control the growth in state spending to be consistent with growth in population and inflation.

"Overall, I passed more than 50 pieces of legislation including increasing penalties for producing meth in the presence of a minor, keeping more tax revenue from portable drilling rigs in our counties, and recovering more funds from overweight trucks doing damage to our county roads," said Estes. "However, I do not measure my success by the number of new laws I pass, but by being a guardian against legislation that I believe is wrong for our communities or in violation of our common-sense conservative values.

"Moving forward, I will remain a leader in the preservation of our natural resources, and the pursuit of renewable energies that promote the use of bio-fuels and reduce our dependence on foreign oil. While the Texas economy remains strong, our future prosperity requires that we continue our efforts to reduce taxes on personal and commercial property", added Estes.

Senate District 30 includes Archer, Baylor, Clay, Collin (part), Cooke, Denton (part), Grayson, Jack, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Shackelford, Stephens, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, and Young counties.