from the Office of State Senator Craig Estes, District 30

For Immediate Release
February 27, 2004
Contact: Lewis Simmons
Phone: (940) 689-0191

Sen. Estes Re-appointed to Agriculture Policy Board

AUSTIN -- State Senator Craig Estes of Wichita Falls has been re-appointed to the state's Agriculture Policy Board.

"Agriculture continues to be a vital sector in the Texas economy. I appreciate your commitment to serving on this board," Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst said in announcing Estes' re-appointment.

The purpose of the Agriculture Policy Board is to review legislation, budgets and statutes, and to recommend strategies for agriculture production income and employment that benefit consumers and promote efficient and sustainable use of natural resources, Estes explained.

"I am proud to be a voice for North Texas as we confront the challenges faced by production agriculture. Agriculture is very important to Senate District 30, so I am especially pleased to pursue this work. This appointment certainly complements some of my other legislative assignments," Estes said.

Estes represents the Texas Senate on the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee of the Southern Legislative Conference. He also serves on the Senate Natural Resources Committee, the Senate Agriculture Subcommittee, the Senate Business and Commerce Committee, the Senate International Relations and Trade Committee, the Senate Select Committee on Workers' Compensation, and is vice-chairman of the Senate Veterans Affairs and Military Installations Committee.

Other members of the Agriculture Policy Board include Rep. Rick Hardcastle of Vernon, Rep. David Swinford of Amarillo, Rep. Sid Miller of Stephenville, Rep. Glenn Hegar of Katy, Senator Eddie Lucio of Brownsville, Senator Frank Madla of San Antonio and Senator Mike Jackson of Pasadena.

Estes serves an 18-county district that includes Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cooke, Grayson, Jack, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Shackelford, Stephens, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise and Young counties and parts of Collin and Denton counties.

# # #