Senator Charles Perry: District 28

Senator Charles Perry

Occupation: Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
Education: Texas Tech University, BBA – Accounting and Management Information
Legislative Experience: House Member, 2011 – 2014; Senate Member, 2014 – present
Hometown: Lubbock
Party: Republican

Charles Perry, a practicing CPA from Lubbock, was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2014 after serving two terms in the Texas House of Representatives. A life-long West Texan, Perry is a movement conservative seeking to reduce waste and inefficiencies in government.

Perry currently sits on the Senate Committee on Higher Education for the 83rd Legislative Interim. In the Texas House, Perry served on the House Committee on Appropriations, as Vice-Chair of the House Committee on Government Efficiency and Reform and the Select Committee on Transparency in State Agency Operations.

As a State Representative, Perry co-authored and helped pass the Voter ID bill to prevent illegal immigrants from fraudulently voting in our elections. As a strong fiscal conservative, Perry led the way to reduce frivolous government spending by authoring legislation to enact zero-based budgeting for state agencies and limit increases in our budget to population growth plus inflation.

In addition to his work in the Legislature, Perry has served his community as president of the Lubbock Boys and Girls Club, American Business Clubs, Community Partners, on the board of the National Council on Family Violence, and the National Teen Dating Abuse Helpline. He is also a deacon at his church, Southcrest Baptist.

Perry grew up in in the district he currently represents, graduating from Sweetwater High School in 1980. In 1984, he earned his Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting and management information systems from Texas Tech University.

Perry has been married to his wife, Jacklyn for over 32 years and together they have a daughter, Jordan, and a son, Matthew. The entire family are graduates of Texas Tech University.

Geographically, Perry represents the largest Senate District in the State of Texas. There are a total of 51 counties in the district: Lubbock, Tom Green, Childress, Lamb, Hale, Floyd, Motley, Cottle, Hardeman, Foard, Wilbarger, Hockley, Crosby, Dickens, King, Knox, Baylor, Terry, Lynn, Garza, Kent, Stonewall, Haskell, Throckmorton, Dawson, Borden, Scurry, Fisher, Jones, Shackelford, Stephens, Mitchell, Nolan, Eastland, Sterling, Coke, Runnels, Coleman, Mcculloch, Concho, Irion, Reagan, Upton, Crane, Ward, Mason, Kimble, Menard, Schleicher, Sutton and Taylor (partial).


Press Room
[ Press Archives: 2015 | 2014 ]

Icon: Press ReleaseJuly 7, 2015
Sen. Perry Announces 15 Town Halls with Rep. Springer

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 30, 2015
Senator Perry Appointed To Select Committee On Transportation Planning

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 26, 2015
Sen. Perry Statement on Marriage Ruling

Icon: Press ReleaseJune 3, 2015
Perry Wraps Up First Session In Senate

Icon: Press ReleaseMay 28, 2015
Perry Passes Significant Education Reform Package

[ MORE ... ]



Icon: Press ReleaseNovember 10, 2014

Icon: Press ReleaseOctober 10, 2014

E-Mail Form


( )  

This form requires that javascript be enabled. Please enable javascript and reload this page.



Office Information

Capitol Address District Address (Lubbock)
The Honorable Charles Perry
P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 463-0128
(512) 463-2424 (fax)

Capitol Staff:
Scott Hutchinson (Chief of Staff)
Travis McCormick (Communications Director)
Matthew Dowling (Legislative Director)
Shannon Harmon (Office Manager/Scheduler)
Ryan Wallace (Policy Analyst)
11003 Quaker Avenue, #101
Lubbock, Texas 79424
(806) 783-9934

District Director: Robyn Tepper
District Address (San Angelo) District Address (Childress)
36 West Beauregard #510
San Angelo, Texas 76903
(325) 481-0028

District Director: Pam Dutton
119 Avenue B NW
Childress, Texas 79201
(940) 937-0909

District Director: Jennifer Foster


84th Session Committee Membership


District Analysis: District 28

Icon: District Map
Click the map to view a detailed district map in PDF format