*** CAPITOL UPDATE ***
TxDOT Announces Next "Click It or Ticket" Campaign
AUSTIN — The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) has announced that its latest statewide Click it or Ticket campaign will run between May 24 and June 6, 2010. During that time, TxDOT will partner with local and state law enforcement agencies to increase the number of officers issuing citations for not wearing seat belts on Texas roads.
A number of important state laws regarding seat belts have changed within the last year and I want to make sure that my constituents are aware of these changes so they can be properly comply with them. The most significant change now requires all occupants of a vehicle -- regardless of age or where they are sitting -- to buckle up. Previously, anyone over the age of 18 could legally ride in the backseat without wearing a safety belt. Also, the law for buckling up young children has changed. Beginning June 1, children younger than 8 years must be in child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches.
This year marks the 25th anniversary of the first safety-belt laws in Texas and the 8th year of the Click It or Ticket initiative. According to TxDOT, safety experts estimate that 2,404 lives have been saved and 56, 344 injuries have been prevented since the campaign began. In addition, the State of Texas has saved an estimated $10 billion in medical expenses, property damage, and other expenses.
To contact Sen. Deuell about the legislative process, contact the Capitol Office at (512) 463-0102 or mail to Sen. Bob Deuell, Texas Senate, P.O. Box 12068, Austin, TX 78711. The website for the Texas Senate is www.senate.state.tx.us. The e-mail address for Sen. Deuell is: firstname.lastname@example.org.