Senator Bob Deuell
Texas Senate, District 2
P.O. Box 12068 Capitol Station, Austin, Texas 78711

DATE: January 11, 2005
CONTACT: Don T. Forse, Jr.
(512) 463-0102

79th Session Opens in Austin
Deuell Ready to Begin Second Session

AUSTIN --On Tuesday, the 79th Texas Legislative Session officially opened at the Texas State Capitol in Austin. This session will be the second for Senator Bob Deuell (R- Greenville) and he says he is anxious to begin working on legislation and issues.

"We have a lot of work to do and I am ready to get started," Deuell said. "School finance is obviously the biggest issue we face, but there are other important issues we will tackle such as worker's compensation, water, and transportation."

"Of course writing the state budget is always a top priority, and I'm happy to see preliminary reports that indicate we will not have a significant shortfall like we faced last session," Deuell said. "As a member of the Senate Finance Committee, I look forward to working with my colleagues to craft a budget that meets the state's needs while being fair to the taxpayers."

Following the election of the Senate President Pro Tem, Governor Perry addressed the body, reminding the Senate the great responsibilities set out before them. "What we do here today is a great celebration," said Perry, "but it also has deep and long term impacts on the people of this state." Perry also urged the Senate to work across party lines to accomplish school finance reform, budget management, and health care reform for children and the indigent.

Lieutenant Governor Dewhurst says he is optimistic that the Senate will be able to work together. "I think what you saw today is a demonstration of all of our thirty-one senators coming together, bi-partisan support for doing what's right here in Texas."

In addition to the Senate Finance Committee, Senator Deuell also serves on the Health and Human Services Committee, Intergovernmental Relations Committee, and is Vice-Chair of the Senate Nominations Committee. He also serves on the Select Committee on Water Policy and is Vice-Chair of the Rural Caucus.