Senator Bob Deuell
Texas Senate, District 2
P.O. Box 12068 Capitol Station, Austin, Texas 78711

DATE: November 12, 2003
CONTACT: Scot Kibbe
(512) 463-0102

Deuell Chosen for Senate Select Committee on Water Policy
Area senator will represent region in addressing future of water supply

AUSTIN -- State Senator Bob Deuell, R-Greenville, has been named to the Senate Select Committee on Water Policy, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst announced today. The newly formed committee will study issues regarding Texas' management and policy concerning ground and surface water resources.

"I know of no issue more important to the future of East Texas than water," Deuell said. "It has been a priority for me both as a candidate and since I took office in January.

"I appreciate the Lieutenant Governor placing this confidence in me and allowing me to be a voice for East Texas on this committee."

Among the select committee's specific charges as they relate to the management and policy concerning ground and surface water are: the role of federal, state, regional, and local governments in setting consistent water policies; the authority of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality over water contracts; the role of the Edwards Aquifer Authority; the role of groundwater conservation districts; the regional water planning process; the conjunctive use of both ground and surface water resources; the rule of capture; historic use standards; water infrastructure and financing; interbasin transfers; junior water rights; conservation; water quality standards; drought preparedness and water marketing.

In an effort to ensure an abundant water supply for the future, the select committee will also monitor the on-going desalination projects by the Texas Water Development Board, to determine how desalination can provide for a cost-effective water source for Texas cities. "Ensuring that we have a plentiful supply of water in Texas, not just today but in the future, is critical to our quality of life, our economy, and our environment," Lt. Gov. Dewhurst said. "In order to meet our water needs tomorrow, I believe that we must address the way we manage our water resources, and identify solutions for securing and distributing water in the future."

Senator Deuell will serve on the committee with Senator Kip Averitt, Senator Robert Duncan, Senator Troy Fraser, Senator Jon Lindsay, Senator Eddie Lucio, Senator Frank Madla, Senator Eliot Shapleigh, Senator Todd Staples, and Senator Tommy Williams. Senator Ken Armbrister will chair the committee.