Friday, September 26, 1997
9:30 am
Senate Chamber


Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.11, the organizational meeting of the Senate Interim Committee on Electric Utility Restructuring was held on Friday, September 26, 1997 in the Senate Chamber at Austin, Texas.


Senator David Sibley
Senator Kenneth Armbrister
Senator Gonzalo Barrientos
Senator Teel Bivins
Senator David Cain
Senator Jane Nelson

Senator Troy Fraser


The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:40 am. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.

Chair Sibley discussed the interim charge for the Committee, and laid out the proposed schedule of hearings. Senator Bivins will host the next meeting in Amarillo; a date for the meeting will be set as soon as possible.

The Chair advised that the hearing would begin with a background of the electric industry and a regulatory update to be presented by Pat Wood, Chair, and Judy Walsh, Commissioner, Public Utility Commission.

Following Chair Wood and Commissioner Walsh's testimony and response to members' questions, Chair Sibley advised that invited testimony on electric utility restructuring issues would commence. The following invited witnesses testified and responded to members' questions:

Julie Moore, and Ron Lanclos, representing Texas Coalition for Competitive Electricity, and
Milton Ramsey, representing Chevron
Bob Reilley, representing Enron Corporation
Curtis Seidlits, representing Association of Electric Companies of Texas, Robert M. Fillmore, Texas Utilities Electric Company, and Steve Schaeffer, Houston Industries, Inc.
Suzi Ray McClellan, representing Office of Public Utility Counsel
Mike Williams, representing Texas Electric Cooperatives
Mark Zion, representing Texas Public Power Association
Monte Akers, representing Texas Municipal League
Michael R. Moore, representing Texas Retailers Association
Dr. Ramon Alvarez, representing the Environmental Defense Fund
Janee Briesemeister, representing the Consumers Union

Upon completion of the invited witnesses' testimony and response to members' questions, Chair Sibley advised that public testimony would be heard. The following witnesses testified and responded to members' questions:

James Fitzpatrick, representing American Association of Retired Persons
Lora Williams, representing Consumers Alliance of the Southeast
Peggy Venable, representing Texas Citizens for a Sound Economy
Carol Biedrzycki, representing Texas Rose, Texas Legal Services Center
Tom Smith, representing Public Citizen
Randy Eminger, representing the Center for Energy and Economic Development
Susan Pitman, representing the American Lung Association
Jim Jeffrey, representing himself and the Goose Creek School District
John A. Monus, Jr., representing himself

Those shown below registered for electric utility restructuring but did not wish to testify:

Robert Wright, consultant for Union Carbide
Carol Jones, representing herself

There being no further business, at 3:10 pm Chair Sibley moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator David Sibley, Chair

Barbara Henderson, Clerk