Press Release
From the Office of State Senator Kel Seliger, District 31

December 19, 2007
Contact: Christy Bertolino
(806) 374-8994

Senator Seliger Appointed to The Energy Council

AUSTIN, Texas -- Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst has appointed State Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) to serve as the newest member of The Energy Council from the Texas Senate, effective immediately. "I appreciate the confidence of the Lieutenant Governor in appointing me to an organization that addresses itself to the energy business, the cornerstone of the Texas economy," Seliger said.

The Energy Council (Council) is a legislative organization comprised of ten member states and five international affiliates, drawn from the major energy producing regions of the United States, Canada and Venezuela. The Council's primary role is to provide a forum for lawmakers to openly discuss government initiatives and measures that will foster the development of sound energy and environmental policies.

"Eight out of the top ten oil producing counties in Texas lie within the 31st Senatorial District. The future of this industry is very much the future of energy economics and policy in this state and this country for many years to come," Seliger added.

Throughout his first term in the Texas Senate, Senator Seliger has distinguished himself as a respected voice on issues of agriculture, oil and gas, and energy. Seliger has served as a member of the powerful Senate Committee on Natural Resources for the past two legislative sessions, which has allowed him to play an active role in finding innovative solutions to meeting the increasing energy demands of a growing Texas population.

"I look forward to working with representatives from the energy industry as well as policymakers in Austin and throughout the United States to help make energy policy that is as meaningful to our future as it has been to our past," concluded Seliger.

Seliger was sworn in to the Texas Senate to serve the citizens of Senate District 31 on March 2, 2004 to complete the term of former Senator Teel Bivins of Amarillo. He was reelected to serve a full, four-year term on November 4, 2004. The district spans 26 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin and includes Amarillo, Midland, Odessa and Big Spring.