Texas Senate News
What's New | Archived News | Live Webcast | Archive Webcast | Radio
July 25, 2001     (512) 463-0300

Legislative Redistricting Board Concludes Its Duty

The Legislative Redistricting Board (LRB) met for the last time today, Wednesday, July 25, 2001. The members of the board are Attorney General John Cornyn, serving as chair; Comptroller of Public Accounts Carole Keeton Rylander, serving as vice-chair; Lt. Governor Bill Ratliff; House Speaker James E. "Pete" Laney; and Land Commissioner David Dewhurst.

Yesterday, the board approved the redistricting maps for both chambers of the Texas Legislature. The plan presented by Dewhurst for the Senate was adopted by a 3-2 vote, with Laney and Ratliff dissenting. The Cornyn plan for the House passed by 3-2, also with Ratliff and Laney dissenting.

The purpose of today's meeting was to execute the documents prepared by the Legislative Counsel, formally enacting the two adopted plans.

Cornyn opened the hearing saying their duty was an obligation placed upon them by the Texas Constitution --a duty everyone agreed was difficult and controversial. Next, Speaker Laney announced the filing of a minority report to the Secretary of State, and invited the board members to join him. The minority report is a formal expression of the minority opposition to the adopted plans.

Concluding its duty with the signature of the documents, the board adjourned.

The public can access the maps using Internet Explorer, at the web site http://www.capitol.state.tx.us, then by clicking on Redistricting Information and then RedViewer.